LogIn

B.C. Boat and Sportsmen's Show
Forums > Fly Fishing > Flyline opinions from the experts...
Moderators: anglingbc, WEBFLYZ BC
Last Post: Tue, May 24, 2005   Topics: 53   Posts: 12
Forums Forums Search Search    Memberlist Memberlist
New Topic     Reply View unanswered posts
marshal Fri, May 20, 2005 - 12:38 PM     Subject: Flyline opinions from the experts... Quote
Hi,
I'm new to river fly fishing for salmon. I have an mod/fast 8 wt.
What type of flyline do you recommend? (sink tip, etc.)
What set up for leader do you recommend? (size, length, etc.)
Any info is appreciated.
Thanks in advance :)
Sandman Sat, May 21, 2005 - 12:38 PM     Subject: RE:Flyline opinions from the experts... Quote

My most used setup is a sinktip line with a six foot leader of 6 pound maxima. When the coho are shy I might switch to a floating line and add a three foot tippet of 4-5 pound test. If fishing deep pools or in the chuck, I might go to a full sink and fish right off the bottom. Clear flylines have become very popular with coho fishermen and after my luck this season, I might just give them a try. Tight lines.
Guest Sat, May 21, 2005 - 12:38 PM     Subject: RE:Flyline opinions from the experts... Quote

For salmon fishing with the fly rod you really need two set-ups:

The first is for swinging big bright flies in deep pools and fast water. For this I recommend a type iv to type vi wet-tip with a short leader no more than 6 feet in length. Sandman is crazy to use 6 lb tippet, you're either going to a) play the fish out to exhaustion or b) break the bastard off. I use 10lb tippet, minimum! 15-20 for Chum! But the breaks on 'em and yard 'em in!