LogIn

B.C. Boat and Sportsmen's Show
Forums > Fly Fishing > Hike In Lakes
Moderators: anglingbc, WEBFLYZ BC
Last Post: Wed, Feb 11, 2004   Topics: 53   Posts: 8
Forums Forums Search Search    Memberlist Memberlist
New Topic     Reply View unanswered posts
epmc Sun, Feb 8, 2004 - 12:37 PM     Subject: Hike In Lakes Quote
Just joined this site, looks very interesting. I have been fly fishing for a couple of years now, and would like like to combine my love of hiking with my love of fly fishing. I only have a small window of opportunity this next June, as I am a student in professional school with very little time off. I'm looking to do a trip that requires one to two days of hiking to access the lake which is suitable for float tube fishing for fish over 10"'s!!! Any info would be greatly appreciated though I understand wanting to keep one's cards close to one's chest!!! It would be great to hear about any books, websites, or videos you have found particuarly interesting. Hope some of you get out to hit the winter steelhead run. Tight lines.
Guest Sun, Feb 8, 2004 - 12:37 PM     Subject: hike in lake Quote
Joined: Feb 2006 Where in the province are you willing to travel too? What is your target species?

I fished a lake which was access around mile 300 on the alaska Highway then a rough 1.5-2 hr quad ride in. When we got there it was non stop pike and walley for the whole day. Biggest walley was 9lb, biggest pike: 20+. These fish were all taken from shore too, we didnt have a boat of tube. Mostly on spoons but a good number on fly as well....it was an awesome trip.

Maxhamish is the name of the lake, its in the vacinity of Ft Nelson, BC. I believe there is float plane and helicopter access or you can hike in.

Haven't been in that neck of the woods for ages but if you would like me to dig up more info or a contact/guide let know.
Sandman Mon, Feb 9, 2004 - 12:37 PM     Subject: RE:Hike In Lakes Quote